AUSTIN, TX – On December 13, 2023, Governor Greg Abbott appointed Anthony E. “T.J.” Klein, Jr. and Johnny E. Trotter and reappointed Joseph G. “Joe” Osterkamp and Wendee L. Payne, Ph.D. to the Texas Animal Health Commission (TAHC), for a term ending September 6, 2029.

Anthony E. “T.J.” Klein, Jr., of College Station, Texas, serves as the director of Texas operations for MPS Egg Farms. He currently oversees the production and processing at multiple poultry facilities, the operations of the Texas feed mill, a shipping and distribution warehouse, and Texas sales. Klein received a Bachelor of Science in Poultry Science from Texas A&M University. He is the first vice president of the Texas Poultry Federation and former president of the Texas Egg Council. He is a member of the Texas Poultry Improvement Association, United Egg Producers, Bryan-College Station Agribusiness Council, and American Egg Board. Commissioner Klein will represent the poultry industry.

Joseph G. “Joe” Osterkamp of Farwell, Texas is owner and partner of Stonegate Farms. Osterkamp received a Bachelor of Arts in Kinesiology from Southwestern University in Georgetown. He is a member of the Select Milk Producers COOP, member and former chairman of the Texas Association of Dairymen, and a member and former president of the Rotary Club of Muleshoe. Commissioner Osterkamp represents the dairy industry.

Wendee L. Payne, Ph.D. of Floydada, Texas is an associate solution consultant for Infor. Dr. Payne received a Bachelor of Science in Agriculture and Animal Science from West Texas A&M University and a Master of Science and Doctor of Philosophy in Animal Science, with an emphasis in bovine reproductive physiology and equine reproductive physiology, respectively, from Texas Tech University. She volunteers for the Therapeutic Riding Center at Texas Tech University and is heavily involved in Lubbock Alumnae Panhellenic as the official representative for her sorority. Commissioner Payne represents the general public.

Johnny E. Trotter, of Hereford, TX serves as president of Livestock Investors LTD and owner of Bar G Feedyard. Trotter received an honorary doctorate in Agricultural Business and Economics from West Texas A&M University. He is currently a member of the American Quarter Horse Association and served as an executive committee member and past president. He is also a member of the National Cattlemen’s Beef Association, Texas Cattle Feeders Association, Texas & Southwestern Cattle Raisers Association, Texas Wheat Growers, and Texas Farm Bureau. Commissioner Trotter is president of the executive committee for the Spicer Gripp Memorial Youth Foundation, district representative for the West Texas Rehab Cattle Auction, past executive committee member and trustee of the American Horse Council, and current member of the Texas A&M University and West Texas A&M University VERO Advisory Council. Commissioner Trotter will represent the feedlot industry.

The Texas Animal Health Commission (TAHC) was established in 1893 as the Livestock Sanitary Commission and charged with protecting the state’s domestic animals “from all contagious or infectious diseases of a malignant character.” TAHC remains true to this charge while evolving with the times to protect the health and marketability of all Texas livestock and poultry. Learn more about the TAHC visit